Massdrop is a Big Disappointment

Hey all! I’m back from China, and I have a somewhat Magic related story/ advice post. I signed up for MassDrop when Commander’s Brew suggested it on their podcast, and purchased a “Massdrop Monthly Magic Blue Box” on April 27, as you can see below. It was supposed to have 85$ of random Magic products, for only 50$. However, the shipping was 12.79$, but I said, “Well, whatever, it’ll be fine.” and ordered anyway.

Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 8.07.37 PM

It said it would be shipped on May 16, and I left for China about five days after, and said to myself, “Well, even shipping from the other side of the US shouldn’t take five days. I sell things periodically on eBay, and it’s never taken more than five days to reach the other side of the country, so I thought I was in the clear.

Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 8.01.35 PM

And guess when it was delivered. Eight days after it was shipped. EIGHT. By then, I was already all settled down in China, for a three week stay. I was pretty sad. I mean Massdrop! I got it EIGHT days after. I trusted you guys to get it to me, but it didn’t get here.

Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 8.02.55 PM

Here’s what I received, when I got back from China:

8 Boosters, 4 BFZ, 4 OGW: 32$

1 Satin Dice Bag: 10$

1 Green Chessex Dice: 10$

1 Baseline Deck Box: 5.50$

1 KMC HyperMat Sleeves: 7.50$

Total Value: 65$

Not exactly the 85$ of value promised, or even close. It’s barely even more than I paid for the box, and waited 59 days for, not even counting the days I was gone. I wouldn’t even have bought most of these products, so it’s a big bummer. And since it arrived LATE, I missed the two week return deadline, so I can’t return this crappy box. I’m not the only one mad, here’s a list of other people complaining about Massdrop’s shipping speeds.

https://forum.teksyndicate.com/t/fuck-massdrop/91727 (Warning: Language)

So, in short, I’m not dealing with Massdrop anytime soon, and hardly dissuade you from doing so. I know the box was random, and I should be kind of happy with what I got. “You get what you get, and don’t get upset.” The big thing is that the shipping was late, with no apol0gies, warnings, or notices.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

