My New EDH Deck: Vorel of the Hull Clade, Part Three

VoreloftheHullClade_DGM_2560x1600_Wallpaper

Hello Everyone! This is the last post on my new Vorel EDH deck. This post will cover how I maximize Vorel’s strength, how I abuse Vorel’s ability with lands and artifacts, and a few cards that power-up my creatures that have +1/+1 counters.

Powering up our creatures with +1/+1 counters

We have three nice creatures in this deck that give our creatures with +1/+1 counters flying or trample. Crowned Ceratok is a 4/3 for 3G, and it gives all our creatures with +1/+1 counters trample. Tuskguard Captain does the same thing except it’s a 2/3 for 2G. Sapphire Drake costs 5U for a 4/4, and gives all your creatures with +1/+1 counters flying. This is a real game-ender. With all the super large hydras in the deck, I can easily swing for lethal if they have flying.

Abusing Vorel’s Ability with Lands and Artifacts

In Mercadian Masques, there was a cycle of lands that entered tapped with two depletion counters. I can tap it and remove a depletion counter to add two mana of the respective color to my mana pool. If I recharge the land every couple turns, then I have two mana every turn from that land. I include both the blue and green ones of this land in the deck. The most abusable artifact in the deck is probably Eternity Vessel. It’s a six mana artifact that enters with X charge counters, where X is my life total. It has landfall, when a land enters the battlefield under my control, I can have my life become equal to the number of charge counters on it. Since I can double the number of charge counters with Vorel, I have near endless life. This is broken in this deck. Mage-Ring Network is a land from Origins, and I can tap one and tap Mage-Ring Network to put a storage counter on it. I can tap it to add X colorless to my mana pool, where X is the number of storage counters I remove from it. The storage counter number quickly grows, and when I cast the X spell, the X in the spell will be enormous. The last one is Astral Cornucopia. It costs XXX, it enters with X charge counters, and I can tap it to add mana to my mana pool equal to the number of charge counters on it. In the late game of a recent commander game I played in, it had 14 charge counters at one point. That’s giant.

Maximizing Vorel’s Strength

Illusionist’s Bracers is a two mana equipment that equips for three. It copies the activated ability of the equipped creature. Doubling Vorel’s effect is great, and Illusionist’s Bracers is a great card in any commander deck that a commander with an activated ability. Magewright’s Stone is a two mana artifact that allows me to pay one mana and tap it to untap any creature that has “tap” in any of it’s activated ability. Kiora’s Follower is a 2/2 for GU, and can tap to untap any permanent, which will usually be Vorel.

Comment ideas for the deck below! Thanks for viewing!

2 thoughts on “My New EDH Deck: Vorel of the Hull Clade, Part Three

Leave a Reply

