My New EDH Deck: Vorel of the Hull Clade, Part One

VoreloftheHullClade_DGM_2560x1600_Wallpaper

Hello Everyone! I’m trying to get back into EDH, and I just put together a Vorel of the Hull Clade EDH Deck! It’s not complete, and there is still a lot of filler cards in the deck. I should be receiving some cards to improve the deck soon.

The Commander

Image

In case you didn’t know, Vorel of the Hull Clade EDH deck’s are greatly based on putting counters on your cards, then duplicating them with Vorel. Though most of the counters duplicated are +1/+1 counters, there are also lots of other cards that benefit from this counter duplication.

Converge

Converge is a new mechanic from the Battle for Zendikar set, that benefits from spending lots of different colors of mana to cast a card. In this deck, there are three converge cards: Woodland Wanderer, it’s four mana 2/2 creature with vigilance and trample, that enters with a +1/+1 counter for each color of mana spent on it. In this deck, I can typically cast it as 4/4.  Skyrider Elf is a creature that costs XGU that is a 0/0 that enters with +1/+1 counters equal to the numbers of colors spent to cast it. Pretty good. In addition to converge cards, I have a lot of cards that can help make converge cards even better by having cards that produce any color of mana. Sphere of the Suns is a 2 mana artifact that enters with three charge counters, and I can tap it and remove a charge counter to add any color of mana to my mana pool. This is the most notable, but there are also several others.

Card Draw

Every EDH deck needs card draw, and I’m lucky that there are many good Vorel EDH draw cards. The best is probably Inspiring Call which is a three mana instant that draws me a card for each creature with a +1/+1 counter that I control. On top of that, it gives all creatures with +1/+1 counters indestructible until end of turn. Bred for the Hunt is a three mana enchantment that allows me to draw a card whenever a creature with a +1/+1 counter deals combat damage to an opponent. Fathom Mage is probably the third best, it’s a four mana 1/1 with evolve, the mechanic that allows me to place a +1/+1 counter on Fathom Mage whenever a creature with greater power or toughness than it enters the battlefield. It also draws me a card when ever a +1/+1 counter is placed on a creature. Prime Speaker Zegana is a six drop 1/1 that enters with X +1/+1 counters, where X is the greatest power of creatures I control. When it enters, I also get to draw cards equal to it’s power. This number can be up to 50 or so, and with a Reliquary Tower in the deck, I quite possibly could draw it, and that would most likely be endgame for my opponent.

That’s it for now, though I should be back with part 2 of my Vorel deck either over the weekend or early next week. Hope you enjoyed, and comment ideas for the deck below!

One thought on “My New EDH Deck: Vorel of the Hull Clade, Part One

Leave a Reply

