Making Some MTG Alters!

IMG_1745

Today, I had a few hours of free time so I borrowed some of my Mom’s paints and altered some random commons from my collection. I altered Ethereal Armor, Auriok Replica, Bathe in Dragonfire, and Ojutai’s Breath.

Ethereal Armor

On the leftmost card, Ethereal Armor, I extended the cape out of the frame on both sides, add a little gold onto the armor, and added a gold border around the card.

Auriok Replica

I don’t know exactly what I was doing with this card, because all I did was draw to wisps of color coming out of the frame and meeting one the bottom-left side. At last I decided I was trying to symbolize that Auriok Replica was part Auriok and part Neurok.

Bathe in Dragonfire

This is probably my favorite alter out of them all. What I did is I extended Atarka’s wings and horns, and also extended the dragonfire all the way around the text. I think it looks nice, and if you look close enough, you will notice that I added extra yellow and red into the center dragonfire. I’m pretty proud of this one.

Otujai’s Breath

In Ojutai’s Breath, I changed Ojutai’s gray wings into a gray, blue, and gold streaked one that extended out of the frame. I then added a silver border. This was my first alter, and in it, I experimented with painting in the text box. I didn’t like it, so this is the only one with a colored text box.

The result was pretty good, if I do say so myself. It was really fun, and I think I might make it into a pastime of mine. Take a close look at the results, even though I had a limited selection of paints so I couldn’t do exactly what I wanted to do with each card. I spent two hours on these, and would really like to get some feedback!

One last thing. Does anyone know how to stop paint from getting on the back of the card? If so, comment! Thanks! Bye!

Leave a Reply

